As The Year Draws To A Close…

I’m still slogging my way through Draft #3 of The Driver’s Wife. Less than 200 pages until I’m through. This particular section I’m re-writing was new in the second draft (so it reads like a first draft; LOL), and I know it needs work and the work is coming along slowly but surely (‘twould be faster if I didn’t have to work my day job). Funny how you can look at something, know it needs fixing, but not know exactly how you’re going to fix it until you are actually…well, fixing it. It is a satisfying process, though. I guess it means you have confidence in your writing and your writing has confidence in you. If that makes any sense.

I’m thinking when I’m through with this draft I should take another look back at my Civil War novel with an eye toward re-working it. Maybe that will be a New Year’s resolution for me.

Another resolution would be to get my arse to Jamestown, VA, this summer for a bit of research so I can write the final draft of The Fortune, which my agent has asked about. But first will be the Historical Novel Society’s conference in San Diego in June. Nice to think about San Diego here in the darkest days of a midwest winter. Nice to think of Key West, too, where I sure wish I was right about now. Sitting at a resort on a sunny balcony with a drink near at hand and a laptop with my latest work-in-progress. Good for inspiration, don’t you think? šŸ˜€

This entry was posted in The Chronicles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

